Przejdź do treści

Academia Europea

Scientific board

Pieter C. Emmer
Academia Europaea
Hana Cervinkova
University of Lower Silesia, Wroclaw
Siegfried Huigen
University of Wrocław
Katarzyna Majkowska
Academia Europaea Wrocław Knowledge Hub Manager
Stanley Bill
University of Cambridge
Jennifer Croft
Freelance translator
Mariusz Czepczyński
Gdańsk University
Frank Uekotter
University of Birmingham

Academia Europaea was founded in 1988 as an international, nongovernmental association of individual scientists and scholars from all disciplines, who are experts and leaders in their own subject areas as recognised by their peers. We are now a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee and a registered charity.

The Academia Europaea will:
— Seek to promote a wider appreciation of the value of European scholarship and of research.
— Seek to encourage interdisciplinary and international scholarship in all areas of learning of relevance to Europe.
— Identify topics of trans-European importance to science and scholarship, and propose appropriate action to ensure that any such topics are adequately addressed.
— Provide independent and impartial advice to European institutions, governments and international agencies concerning matters affecting science, scholarship and academic life in Europe wherever it is appropriate to its expertise.

The Academia will endeavour to:
— Encourage achievement of the highest possible standards in scholarship, research and education.
— Promote a better understanding among the public at large of the benefits of knowledge and learning, and of scientific and scholarly issues that affect society, its quality of life and its standards of living.
We achieve these aims through a programme of activities which include the organisation and promotion of meetings, study groups, expert workshops; through the election of eminent scientists and scholars to membership of the Academia; and through scientific and other publications, including the Academia’s quarterly journal, the European Review. All members of the Academia  are entitled to access the  online version of the journal on  the home page. The Journal is now listed and  carries an impact factor.

The Academia has three individual membership categories: Ordinary, Foreign and Honorary. There is also a category of membership for organisations – ‘Associates’. The Academia’s current membership is 3500. Foreign members (143) are eminent scholars who are not based in Europe, but who have strong research links with European institutions. Membership is open to the best scientists and scholars from anywhere. The Academia particularly welcomes nominations for women members and for candidates who are under 55 years of age, from all disciplines.

The Academia Europaea is run by a Board of Trustees, who are also Directors of the registered Company and Charity.

The elected President chairs the Board and the advisory Scientific Council. The President is supported by a number of Vice-Presidents and the Honorary Treasurer. The Board of Trustees are the executive management board of the Academia Europaea. The Executive Secretary acts as the company secretary and secretary to the Trustees and is the de facto chief executive officer. Academic interests are represented both in the Board of Trustees, the Council and through twenty one academic Sections.

These are aggregated into four Classes:
— A1: Humanities;
— A2: Social and Related Sciences;
— B: Exact Sciences;
— C: Life Sciences.

All members are elected and assigned to one of the following Sections:
• History and Archaeology
• Classics and Oriental Studies
• Linguistic Studies
• Literary and Theatrical Studies
• Musicology and History of Art and Architecture
• Philosophy, Theology and Religious Studies
• Film, Media and Visual Studies
• Behavioural Science
• Social Sciences
• Law
• Economics, Business and Management Sciences
• Mathematics
• Informatics
• Physics and Engineering Sciences
• Chemical Sciences
• Earth and Cosmic Sciences
• Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
• Cell and Developmental Biology
• Physiology and Neuroscience
• Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
• Translational and Applied Biology
• Clinical and Veterinary Sciences


Read more about each AE Prize here.

The registered office and headquarters of the Academia Europaea is based in London. This is also the location of the General Secretariat.
In collaboration with local and regional partners, the Academia Europaea has established a number of regional hubs.