Warning: Declaration of Menu_With_Description::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_el(&$output, $data_object, $depth = 0, $args = NULL, $current_object_id = 0) in /home/acadeuro/public_html/wp-content/themes/ae/functions.php on line 28 44 Congress of Polish Physical Society – Academia Europaea 44 Congress of Polish Physical Society – Academia Europaea
This website uses only third-party cookie files to facilitate the useage of our service. If you are not blocking these files, you agree to use them and store in memory. Remember that you can manage cookies by changing your browser settings.
# Notice: Undefined variable: icon in /home/acadeuro/public_html/wp-content/themes/ae/single-event.php on line 16 event-icon

44 Congress of Polish Physical Society

  • Date: September 10-15, 2017

  • Venue: Wrocław University of Science and Technology




It is the oldest Polish physics conference, with its history reaching back to the Inaugural Meeting held in Warsaw in 1920. It is organized biannually, rotating between important physics research centers in Poland. This year it is held under the Honorary Patronage of both Ministry of Science and the City Mayor.

600 regular participants are expected (mostly professional researchers and graduate students from all branches of physics, but also younger students, teachers, and hobbyists), and 1000 participants of open satellite events (mostly high school students and children).

The lectures selected for the Congress will showcase the most important recent research advances in physics, with emphasis on achievements that involved Polish contribution. The program also includes a dozen specialized parallel afternoon sessions. One of them will be devoted to optics, which is an branch of physics especially strongly developed in our Department of Optics and Photonics.




A number of Special Guests chosen from among the most eminent world physicists will give plenary lectures, including three Nobel laureates: Shuji Nakamura, Theodor Hänsch, Gerard 't Hooft, two world leading researchers in the field of quantum information: Charles Bennett and Anton Zeilinger, a Templeton Prize winner: Michal Heller, a famous Polish astrophysicist Andrzej Udalski, two most cited active Polish physicists: Maciej Lewenstein (quantum optics) and Witold Nazarewicz, and 6 past or latest recipients of the most prestigious Polish Science Award.

The satellite events include an open popular session addressed mostly for high school students, featuring lectures by two great speakers: Anton Zeilinger and Łukasz Turski, and another session of experiments and demonstrations for children. There also will be discussion panels of various kinds, and a poster session.

The social program includes the choice of several city excursions, a special banquet and a classical music concert in the city’s new and magnificent National Forum of Music.
More information in Polish available on the website of the congress.




Academia Europaea is one of the Sponsors of the event.



Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/acadeuro/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5279