This website uses only third-party cookie files to facilitate the useage of our service. If you are not blocking these files, you agree to use them and store in memory. Remember that you can manage cookies by changing your browser settings.
# event-icon

Lecture by Prof. Frédéric Dias

Date: 14 May, 2019; 14:00
Venue: Congress Centre of Wrocław University of Science and Technology (building  D-20)

With great pleasure we inform about a speech that was delivered under the Interdisciplinary Scientific Seminar of Wrocław University of Science and Technology. The guest at the meeting was  Professor Frédéric Dias from University College Dublin, a Member of Academia Europaea.

The lecture entitled “The fascination of ocean waves” was delivered on Tuesday, May 14, at 2.00 p.m. at the Congress Centre of WUST (building  D-20). Admission was free of charge.

Prof. Frédéric Dias received a PhD in Civil and Environmental Engineering from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA, in 1986. He started his career in the US before coming back to France to join CNRS in 1990. In 2000, he moved to Ecole normale supérieure Paris–Saclay and has been a Professor of Applied Mathematics since. In 2009, he went to University College Dublin (UCD) on leave to work on wave energy converters. He is now leading the wave group at UCD. In 2012, he received an advanced grant from the European Research Council (ERC) to work on extreme wave events. In 2014, he received a proof of concept grant from the ERC to work on wave measurement. In 2019, he received a second advanced grant from the European Research Council (ERC) to work on wave breaking.

Prof. Frédéric Dias was elected as a member of the Royal Irish Academy in 2016, of the Academia Europaea in 2017 and of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in 2019.

In 2014, Prof. Frédéric Dias has been awarded the Emilia Valori prize for applications of science by the French Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Frédéric Dias is co-chief editor of the European Journal of Mechanics B/Fluids and has been Secretary General of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM) from 2008 to 2016.